lookinumber.blogg.se

Parmesan roasted acorn squash recipe
Parmesan roasted acorn squash recipe





I roasted the squash two days beforehand and would recommend that if you’re planning to make this on a weeknight. Such a great hearty meal since my husband is vegetarian. The flavors were amazing, there was great texture from the barley and seeds, and overall it was easy if a bit time consuming (and requiring a lot of bowls/pots/pans). I'd use a 1:1 ratio of acid to fat/oil next time. I found the dressing for the grain (I used farro) to be a bit too acidic-and I like vinaigrettes on the tart side. This was a delicious recipe! While I think it would probably have been even more delicious with all of the butter, I only used about 1/4 of what was called for. I'm definitely making this for a work potluck on Tuesday, it's so tasty and colorful! Nutty and bright, soft and creamy, chewy and crunchy: it's a VERY well-balanced dish. I also left out the vinegar from the dressing (I liked it with just lemon). I didn't have barley or farro on hand, so I used a Japanese multigrain rice mix and some black rice.

parmesan roasted acorn squash recipe

I used half a stick of butter and left out the cheese and lemon zest from the squash (and added a bit of sugar until it tasted right). I had a medium-sized red kuri squash, and was pretty sure it weighed less than the recipe, so I used (roughly) the proportions from the recipe. This recipe is so good! Some caveats: I didn't have parmesan or raisins, so I substituted pecorino romano and dried tart cherries. Once I had all the ingredients ready to go this was super easy to put together, but it is somewhat involved to get everything to that point-definitely a weekend recipe. Golden raisins were also sold out at my local grocery and so I subbed chopped up dates. I used a kabocha squash and all three recommended grains (totally worth it for the beauty and varied texture). Used vegan butter, maple syrup instead of honey, and I made vegan parmesan, but you could probably just use nutritional yeast to get the umami flavor since it's getting rolled up into the squash anyway. I made it for a party and changed it to be vegan. I've never made anything this good before. This recipe is superb! The balance of flavors and textures is unbelievable. I was skeptical of the flavor combos but this was GOOD! I made it with sweet potatoes instead of squash and served it with crispy mushrooms and a jammy egg.

parmesan roasted acorn squash recipe

I held the raisins until I tried it all together because I was concerned about all the sweetness-but thanks to the honey and sweetly roasted squash, I was glad I left them out! I'm obviously missing the sweet tooth needed to appreciate this dish : ( It took half the day to make and ended with a sweet, mushy, strange concoction. Oh no, here comes the wet blanket amongst all the rave reviews.I was excited to try this recipe, but it was a real bummer.







Parmesan roasted acorn squash recipe